Adult Basic Education

The Vincennes University Adult Basic Education program offers FREE instruction in basic skills to adults in the southwestern counties of Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Orange, Sullivan and Pike.

With Adult Basic Education, you set your own goals, work at your own pace, and best of all instruction is free.

We can help you:

  • Prepare to enter college
  • Prepare for the GED test
  • Improve skills for your job
  • Improve skills for a better job

 

VU- REGION 7, 8, and 11 Class Schedule

 

VU- REGION 11

Posey County

Teacher: Kim Steele/kims40790@gmail.com

Monday/Tuesday/Thursday 9 A.M.-12 P.M.- ABE- Mt. Vernon (Hedges School)

 

 Dubois County:

Teacher: Missy Meredith/mmeredith2009@gmail.com

Monday/Wednesday 2-4:30 & 5-8 P.M.- ABE- Jasper (VUJC)

 

North Spencer School Corporation

Teacher: Mary Balbach/mbalbach@mail.nspencer.k12.in.us

Monday & Thursday 9 A.M.-12 P.M., 12:30-3:30 P.M. & 6-8:30 P.M.- ESL- Huntingburg (Ave Maria Center)

 

Teacher: Brehan Leinenbach/brehanl99@hotmail.com

Tuesday & Thursday 6-9 P.M.- ESL- Jasper (Library Annex Building)

 

Gibson County:

Teacher: Connie Coulter/kittystrikes@outlook.com

 Monday-Thursday 1-4 P.M.- ABE- Princeton (Work One)

Monday/Wednesday 5-8 P.M.- ABE- Princeton (Work One)

 

Spencer County:

Teacher: Sindy Harris/sindyhin@yahoo.com

Tuesday/Thursday 5-7:30 P.M.- ABE- Dale (Dale Presbyterian Church)

 

Teacher: Megan Vance/mvance@oak.edu

Tuesday/Thursday 12-3 P.M.& 6-8 P.M.- ABE- Rockport (Marva Stateler Memorial Education Center

 

Pike County:

Teacher: Hannah Price (online)

*Class offerings are currently online only.

 

Perry County:

Teacher: Rebecca Miller/conleymiller@sbcglobal.net

 Monday/Wednesday 9 A.M. -12 P.M.- ABE- Tell City (Schergens Center)

 

Knox County:

Teacher: Mark Westfall/mwestfall52@yahoo.com

Monday/Wednesday 5:30-8:30 P.M. –ABE- Vincennes (VU Campus- Zella Young Building)

 

Teacher: Briana Daugherty/brianamdaugherty@yahoo.com

Monday/Wed 9 A.M.-12 P.M. & T/Th 9 A.M.-12 P.M.-ABE-Vincennes (VU Campus-Zella Young Building)

 

North Knox School Corporation

Teacher: Shelley Richardson/richardson@nknox.k12.in.[1] [2] [3] us

Monday-Friday 7:30 - 10:30 A.M. & 11:30 A.M. - 2:30 P.M- ABE- Bicknell (North Knox Education Center)

Tuesday 5:00-8:00 P.M[4] [5] .- ABE- Bicknell (North Knox Education Center)

 

Education Director: Lori Graham/lgraham@swyouthvillage.com

Monday-Friday 8-11 A.M. & 12:30-3:30 P.M.- ABE- Vincennes (Southwest Youth Village)

 

Warrick County

Teacher: Danielle Slaton

Monday - Thursday 5:00 - 8:00- ABE- Boonville (Loge School)[6] 

 

Teachers: Vicki Dalton/Drew Gerth

 M-F 8-11 A.M., 12-3 P.M., & 6-8 P.M.- ABE- Newburgh (Warrick Education Center)

Saturday 8-11 A.M.- ABE- Newburgh (Warrick Education Center)

 

Vanderburgh County:

Teacher: Pam Bennitt/p_bennitt2015@twc.com

M-Th 8:30-11:30 A.M.-ABE- Evansville (Culver School)

 

Teacher: Patrick Branstrator/pbranstr@usi.edu

Tuesday/Thursday 9 A.M.-12 P.M. and 12:30-3:30 P.M. -ABE- Evansville (St. Lucas Church)

Tuesday/Thursday evenings 5:30-8:30 P.M. -ABE-Evansville  (St. Lucas Church)

 

Teacher: Ali Rugani/alirugani@gmail.com

Tuesday/Thursday 9 A.M.-12 P.M. -ABE- (Evansville Christian Life Center)

 

Teacher: Shaun Brames/sbrames1997@gmail.com

Saturday morning 9 A.M. -12 P.M. -ABE-Evansville (Ivy Tech)

Tuesday evenings 5-8 P.M.- ABE- Evansville (Ivy Tech)

 

Teacher: Rhonda Drake/rdrake@workonesouthwest.org

Tuesday/Thursday 4:30-7:30 P.M.- ABE- Evansville (Memorial Baptist Church)

 

Teacher: Amy Isaac/aisaacvu@gmail.com

Monday-Thursday- 1:30- 5:30 P.M.- ABE- Evansville- Math Only (IvyTech)

 

Teacher: Marsha Stowe/mstowe2@ivytech.edu

M-Th 9 A.M.-12 P.M. & 12-3 P.M.-ABE- Evansville (Work One)

 

Teacher: Missy Meredith/mmeredith2009@gmail.com

M-Th-  9 A.M.- 12 P.M. - ABE- Evansville (Youth Build)

 

Teacher: Gretchen Easterday/gretchen@easterdayfamily.com

MWF- 8-10 A.M.- ESL Beginners & Intermediate- Evansville- (Ivy Tech)

MWF 10:30 A.M.-12:30 P.M.- ESL Beginners- Evansville (Nativity)

T/Th- 8-10 A.M.- ESL Beginners & Intermediate- Evansville (Trinity Anglican)

T/Th10:30 A.M.-12:30 P.M.- ESL Advanced-Evansville (Nativity)

 

 

Teacher: Megan Wickersham/meganwickersham@gmail.com

MWF - 10:30 A.M.-12:30 P.M.- ESL-Chinese Beginners- Evansville (Nativity)

MWF- 1-3 P.M.- ESL Intermediate- Evansville (Nativity)

T/Th- 1-3 P.M.- ESL Beginners- Evansville (Nativity)

 

Teacher: Janelle Nisly/nelle64@yahoo.com

M/W- 6-8 P.M.- ESL Advanced- Evansville (Washington Square Mall)

 

Kelley Bland/kelleybland@evansvillechristian.org

T/Th- 6-8 P.M. -ESL Beginner & Intermediate- Evansville (Washington Square Mall)

 

Evansville Literacy Center

Director: Jennifer Wigginton/jennifer@litcenter.org

Tuesday/Thursday 1:00-4:00 P.M.- ABE- Evansville (Literacy Center)

 

United Methodist Youth Home

Director: Michael Bolin/mbolin@umyh.com

Monday - Friday 9:30 - 10:40 A.M., 12:00-1:10 P.M., & 1:55 - 2:40 P.M.- ABE- Evansville (UMYH)

 

 

VU- REGION 7

Sullivan County

Teacher: Kim Crooks/tktcrooks@msn.com

Tuesday- 9 A.M.-12 P.M. and 5-8 PM– ABE- Sullivan (Work One)

 

Teacher: Hannah Price/Debbie Ellis

Tuesday & Wednesday 6:00 - 9:00 P.M. - ABE - Dugger (Dugger Lions Club)

 

REGION 7 ONLINE COURSE

Teacher: Hannah Price/hprice@vinu.edu

 

 

 

VU- REGION 8

Orange County

Teacher: Vicki Conrad/vickiconrad@ymail.com

 

Monday- 9A.M.-12 P.M & 3-6 P.M.- ABE- Paoli (Work One)

Tuesday- 9 A.M.-12 P.M.- ABE- Paoli (Work One)

Wednesday- 9 A.M.-12 P.M. & 2-5 P.M.- ABE- Paoli (Work One)

Thursday- 9 A.M.-12 P.M. & 3-6 P.M.- ABE-  Paoli (Work One)

 

 

Martin County

Teacher: Greg Baugh/greg8698@hotmail.com

 

Tuesday- 4-7 P.M.- ABE- Loogootee (Work One)

Thursday- 4-7 P.M.- ABE- Loogootee (Work One)

 

Lawrence County:

Teacher: Travis Malone/travismalone@hotmail.com

 

Monday- 1-4 & 5-8 P.M.- ABE- Bedford (Work One)

Tuesday- 1-4 & 5-8 P.M.- ABE- Bedford (Work One)

Thursday- 1-4 & 5-8 P.M.- ABE- Bedford (Work One)

 

Tuesday- 9-11 A.M.- ABE- Mitchell (Mitchell Public Library)

Thursday- 9-11 A.M.- ABE- Mitchell (Mitchell Public Library)

 

 

Daviess County:

Teacher: Briana Daugherty/brianamdaugherty@yahoo.com

Monday- 1-4 P.M.- ELL & 4-7 PM- ABE- Washington (Work One)

Tuesday- 1-4 P.M.- ELL- Washington (Work One)

Wednesday- 1-4 P.M.- ELL & 4-8 P.M.- ABE- Washington (Work One)

 

REGION 8 ONLINE COURSE

Teacher: Hannah Price/hprice@vinu.edu

 

For more information, please click here.