网页内容展示

 

The Early College Philosophy

For every 100 low-income students who start high school, only 65 earn a high school diploma and only 45 will enroll in college. Only 11 will complete a postsecondary degree. High school graduates from poor families who score in the top testing quartile are no more likely than their lowest-scoring, affluent peers to attend college. The former enroll at rates of 78%; the latter at 77%.

The Early College model helps address these dismal numbers. It is centered on developing the opportunity to:

  • increase high school graduation rates and post-secondary entrance and completion rates,
  • remove major barriers to post-secondary access, and
  • ease the transition from high school to college.

Early college successes

The success of Early College programs is undeniable. According to Jobs for the Future, Early College high schools have a significantly higher graduation rate than the national average of approximately 72%.  VU’s Early Colleges share in this success; notably, Ben Davis University High School has graduated 100 % of its students every year since 2011.  And, the success of VU’s Early Colleges is especially noteworthy when considering the student population served: low-income youth, first-generation college goers, English language learners, students of color, and young people underrepresented in higher education.

Early College Savings

Early College high schools save considerable costs for the State of Indiana and students. Studies indicate that Early Colleges are a cost-effective way for states to improve college completion. In addition to decreased textbook costs, Early College students attain transferable credit at a fraction of the cost they would have paid at traditional public colleges in Indiana. Most importantly, students leave Early College programs with no debt.

The Early College Models

While the goals and rigor are consistent, the structure of the Early College model can be customized to the needs of a school corporation and its students. Currently, Vincennes University include stand-alone early college high schools models, an early college within a school model, a model in which the entire high school converts to an early college, and the career and technical early college model.

The following is a link to "Online College for High School" content found on the VU Distance Education web site: https://my.vinu.edu/web/distance-education/online-college-for-high-school-program

This page includes the Online College for High School Course Request Form in the "Quick Links" section.

网页内容展示

Early College Administration

 

Dr. Nicole Shankle, Dean of Early College

nshankle@vinu.edu

 

Amy Coots, Dual Credit Quality Assurance Coordinator

acoots@vinu.edu

 

Angela Rogers, Early College Secretary

arogers@vinu.edu

 

Ron Hoke, CTE Curriculum Specialist

rhoke@vinu.edu

 

Dr. Andrew Findlay, Director of CTE/Early College Implementation

afindlay@vinu.edu

 

 

Early College / CTE Site Contacts

 

Area Career Center Hammond (ACC)

Angela Watson, Assistant Dean

awatson@vinu.edu

 

Area 30 Career Center

Michael Woods, Assistant Dean

mwoods@vinu.edu

 

Area 31 Career Center

Tieree Reid, Assistant Dean

treid@vinu.edu

Mary McCormick, Site Manager

mmccormick@vinu.edu

 

Ben Davis University

Tieree Reid, Assistant Dean

treid@vinu.edu

 

Center Grove Early College

Dr. Andrew Findlay, Assistant Dean

afindlay@vinu.edu

 

Central 9 Career Center

Dr. Andrew Findlay, Assistant Dean

afindlay@vinu.edu

 

East Allen University

Dr. Odelet Nance, Assistant Dean

onance@vinu.edu

 

Elkhart Career Center

Mike Hepner, Assistant Dean

mhepner@vinu.edu

 

Heartland Career Center

Jennifer Hughes, Assistant Dean

jhughes@vinu.edu

 

Hoosier Hills Career Center

Tim Bauer, Assistant Dean

tbauer@vinu.edu

 

Lawrenceburg Early College

Karen O’Neal, Site Director

ko’neal@vinu.edu       

 

McKenzie Center for Innovation and Technology

Dr. Brent Stocksdale, Assistant Dean

bstocksdale@vinu.edu

 

New Palestine High School

Dr. Brent Stocksdale, Assistant Dean

bstocksdale@vinu.edu

 

North Side High School

Dr. Odelet Nance, Assistant Dean

onance@vinu.edu

Glenda Ervins, Site Director

gervins@vinu.edu

 

North White High School

TBD

 

Perry Meridian High School

Dr. Andrew Findlay, Assistant Dean

afindlay@vinu.edu

Dr. Kevin Mowrer, Site Director

kmowrer@vinu.edu

 

Porter County Career Center

Angela Watson, Assistant Dean

awatson@vinu.edu

Pam Mishler-Fish, Site Manager

Pmishler-fish@vinu.edu

 

Prosser Career Center

TBD

 

Southeastern Career Center

Karen O’Neal, Site Director

ko’neal@vinu.edu

Tippecanoe Early College

Clay DeYoung, Assistant Dean

cdeyoung@vinu.edu

 

Vincennes Lincoln High School

Karisa Bauer, Site Coordinator

kbauer@vinu.edu

 

Wabash High School

Jennifer Hughes, Assistant Dean

jhughes@vinu.edu

 

Washington High School

Tim Bauer, Assistant Dean

tbauer@vinu.edu

Dana Arvin, Site Coordinator

darvin@vinu.edu

 

Wildcat Creek Co-op

Clay DeYoung, Assistant Dean

cdeyoung@vinu.edu    

           

 

 

 

 

网页内容展示

网页内容展示